Reality Check India

Curious ?

Posted in Uncategorized by realitycheck on April 15, 2007

I received some emails from friends and not-so-friends wondering who the f** I was ?

First, I must admit to a certain level of uneasyness with anonymous blogging. Unfortunately, this is a necessity in a country where freedom of speech is allowed, as long as it is trivial.  Blogging is a medium that allows expression in this manner. I am damn well entitled to exploit that. In doing so, I have taken care not to slander or target any group or individuals. I have deleted several comments in bad taste. If I find some blogs annoying, I simply stay away from them. No visits, no comments, no links.

I am just an average Joe. I have no connections anywhere in the “system”. I have never even met an IAS officer, an MLA, an MP, a TV or Film actor. I cant even name a police constable to escape a challan.  Why anonymous ? Am I chicken ? No, I may be a fool, but I am not stupid.

The internet is my friend. I try to spend an hour every couple of days for this blog. I share what I find during my research on my favorite topics. My favourite topics are the quota system in India, the naxalite issue, and the tax holiday schemes. I have read everything from all online Economics and Political Weeklies to Marc Galanters works to every single one of relevant Supreme Court judgements on the judis.in website. Every time I read something interesting I blog about it here.

In the beginning, there was the excitement of covering ground on a topic I knew little about. I didnt know the NCBC, the Mandal criteria, Indira Sawhney, Champakam, the Mysore and Madras communal G.O.s, the Kerala case, the NSSO, I did not know the names of any north Indian castes like Kurmi, Jat, Lodh, Bania, Gujars, Thakurs.  I had no idea Bengal and Assam had very little OBCs.   The list goes on. . . I am sure all of us on all sides of the OBC line now have a super heightened caste awareness.  While caste is a reality in India, it wasnt supposed to turn out like this.  You cant make something disappear by making it more real. 

Anyway, now there is little incentive for such academic pursuits.  Overall, I think this blog experiment has contributed in its own way to the discourse.

I have no illusions about taking on things larger than these simple things I see around  me. 

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Observer said, on April 15, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    Well, this blog has vastly expanded my understanding of the political machinations in the Indian govt. I must confess to being ignorant of some of the details of North Indian castes as well and their dynamics. I think one other thing this blog has shown is that quality is more important than quantity. By keeping the main issue squarely in front, without impassioned histrionics on 5000 years of this and that, it has brought a modern and analytic approach to Indian blogging. I wish more bloggers would take this cue. In fact, I wish politicians would try and show a similar streak. RC, it is a shame you are not running for Parliament. I think many educated people of all castes would vote for someone like you to bring some sanity to the madhouse that the Lok Sabha has become.

  2. Reason said, on April 16, 2007 at 5:50 am

    // Anyway, now there is little incentive for such academic pursuits. Overall, I think this blog experiment has contributed in its own way to the discourse.

    I have no illusions about taking on things larger than these simple things I see around me. //

    Hope you would continue blogging.

    Did the emails you refer to contain any threatening language? Hope not.

  3. indica said, on April 16, 2007 at 7:20 am

    What I appreciate about your blog is objectivity – the fact that you don’t mix fact and reason with emotions. Especially given the sensitive nature of the topic.

    It’s a pity that while we call ourselves a democracy, as citizens we don’t seem to have a culture for free and fair debate. Populism is being used to legitamize injustice.

    But what else can be expected out of a population where more than half is illiterate and the biggest stumbling block to opportunities is the sheer size of population that we have ? Any competition that can be side-lined in any possible way will be.

    Still, I trust that the supreme court will be mindful of it’s duty.

    Thank you for doing your part as an educated, fair minded citizen.

  4. realitycheck said, on April 17, 2007 at 3:08 am

    >> Hope you would continue blogging >>

    Of course I will 🙂

  5. Gaurav said, on April 17, 2007 at 6:34 am

    RC,

    I assume you must be getting mails from idiots affliated to HTOHL.
    I think you are doing a great job, please keep doing it without paying any attention to petty fellows

    Regards

  6. Reason said, on April 17, 2007 at 9:15 am

    continuing with the job at hand 🙂
    did you see this –
    http://www.frontlineonnet.com/fl2318/stories/20060922005412600.htm

    you would be interested, since you spent so much time on another blogpost by venkatesan.

    see the liberal use of the term ‘weaker classes’. and then at the end, going out to bat for creamy-layer –
    “It is pointed out that it is those belonging to the creamy layer, with their capacity to train and equip themselves with proper coaching, who could secure the cut-off marks at the threshold level.”

    if they have the capacity to train and equip, what disadvantage could they claim for deserving unequal treatment?

    and see the assertion that there is no ‘general’ class and they can not claim anything. That is in relation to the oversight committee mandate to ensure general category seats do not decline. Even among politicians, only two (one is referred to in this article) took this stand!

    stock market discussions on TV have a disclosure section in the end for the panelists to disclose their interests in the shares/positions they discussed.

  7. Sharan Sharma said, on April 17, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    Good opportunity to thank you, RC, for the wealth of insight that you have provided. Look forward to more! (talk of being shameless 🙂

  8. Revathi said, on April 18, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    Blogs seem to be providing a better source of information when compared to newspapers that seem to linger lovingly on shilpa’s kiss and Ash-Abi wedding. May be because blogs are not commercial ventures. Anyway, keep the good work going

  9. Goldstar said, on April 19, 2007 at 3:31 am

    Keep the good work going, RC !! I am impressed by your blog and its objectivity. God bless you… With people like you around, there is still hope.


Leave a Reply

